A Great Day at the Racetrack

Last Friday was an early morning, but well worth it.

At 5:30 a.m., we were on our way to Auto Club Speedway in Fontana where NASCAR Sprint Cup standout and local boy Kevin Harvick and his wife DeLana were waiting to present the CSUB Foundation with a check for more than $150,000. The gift will fund one full academic scholarship for a CSUB student-athlete for the next 12 years. The first-year scholarship went to CSUB volleyball player, Lauren Holderman.

One of the many national reporters in the audience jokingly asked Kevin if he expected the university to be renamed in his honor. He conceded that he didn’t think there were enough zeros on the check to make that possible.

True. But, Beverly Byl, V.P. for University Advancement and Executive Director of the CSUB Foundation who was on hand to accept the gift on behalf of the University, quickly and playfully responded with “we can talk, Kevin.”

After the news conference, and before Kevin jumped into his car for a late morning practice run, he was gracious enough to show us around his plush rig that transports his team’s cars, tools and gear across the country, entertained many photo opps around the track’s garage area, and even signed an autograph for my son who’s a young racing fan. Check out our photo gallery here.

What kind, down-to-earth people Kevin and his wife are.

Thanks again to the Harvicks for a fun and eventful morning. In this day and age, it is gifts like this one that are all the more important as we look for new ways to increase the educational attainment for those who have a desire to go to college.

“I’m so grateful for this scholarship,” said Holderman. “About five years ago my mother became an unemployed parent trying to raise three teenagers. I worried my whole high school career about getting scholarships so my parents would never have to worry about having enough money to get me through school.  I hope that one day I will be able to give back to all the people that helped me succeed through school, volleyball, and my career after college.”

— Rob Meszaros, Director of Public Affairs and Communications

