CSUB alum maintains ‘Law & Order’ in L.A.

Oscar Lozoya at work editing "Law & Order: Los Angeles"
Oscar Lozoya at work editing "Law & Order: Los Angeles"

Congratulations to Oscar Lozoya (BA Communications ’09) for his recent promotion to assistant editor for “Law & Order: Los Angeles” – a spin off from the original “Law & Order” television show that was filmed in New York.

How did he do it? He shared his answer with us:

“I graduated from CSUB in the spring of 2009.  I majored in Communications with an emphasis in Digital Media and minor in Business.

“My first editing job was working at KBAK, the local Bakersfield Fox/CBS affiliate, as the national editor. Six months later I resigned from my position and decided to finish school and attend CSUB full time. While attending school, I interned for the Bakersfield Jam and Warner Bros. After my first season with the Bakersfield Jam, they hired me on as their Tricaster Director. After the season was over I was offered an internship with NBC for Wolf Films, the production company for the ‘Law & Order’ franchise.

“The CSU Media Internship program and CSUB staff helped me out tremendously in landing this internship. After my internship was over, I was asked to stay on as a post-production assistant for all three ‘Law & Order’ shows. After a year, they then bumped me up to assistant editor.”

Way to go, Oscar! If you are an alum with a story to share, please click here and let us know about your recent accomplishments.

