CSUB alum brings Goodwill trailer to his alma mater

It’s always great to hear of CSUB alumni doing well, especially when they stay locally and contribute to our community after graduation.

Ken Beurmann, VP of Business Development for Goodwill Industries, is one of these grads (’07, Political Science). I caught up with him over lunch this week and he informed me that Goodwill has parked one of its Attended Donation Centers, or ADCs, in CSUB’s Lot I near the Icardo Center. (See map below).

This is not just some old trailer that was simply thrown into place as you can tell from the picture. It really does liven things up.

“CSUB was chosen as a site for this particular ADC because it is conveniently located next to the existing recycling drop-off bins on campus,” said Beurmann.  “The idea here is the public can now take their household recyclables and their unwanted household goods to one location, all in one convenient trip.”

The ADC is staffed by a Goodwill employee, 7 days a week from 8 am – 4 pm.

This is great news for me. With two growing young kids at home, I find myself making the trek over to Goodwill’s White Lane store every other month or so to get rid of outgrown clothes and toys. Now I can just throw stuff in my trunk and bring it to work with me. Plus, I’m helping Goodwill serve its mission to help people with barriers find meaningful employment.

Keep this in mind the next time you clean out your closets. You win, and our community wins.

— Rob Meszaros, CSUB Director of Public Affairs and Communications


Categories Uncategorized